Army, APF shuttlers win doubles titles

Mar 16, 2018-Ratnajit Tamang and Nabin Shrestha of Tribhuvan Army Club combined to clinch the men’s doubles title while Puja Shrestha and Shikshya Shrestha of Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club teammed up to win the women’s doubles in the 14th Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Championships at the APF headquarters in Halchowk on Wednesday.

Tamang-Shrestha beat Dipesh Dhami and Bijit Thapa Magar of APF 21-16, 19-21, 22-20. Tamang and Dhami will also face off in the men’s singles final on Friday. Puja and Shikshya overcame Army pair of Anumaya Rai and Nangsal Devi Tamang, the women’s singles champion, 21-23, 21-14, 21-16. The men’s double champions will receive Rs 60,000 and the runners-up will get Rs 30,000. The women’s doubles winners will get Rs 40,000 and the runners-up earn Rs 25,000.

Puja also teamed up with Dhami to win the mixed doubles championship. The duo rallied to defeat Tamang siblings Ratnajit and Nangsal of TAC 17-21, 21-19, 21-17. Prince Dahal of Darchula won boys’ U-17 singles title defeating Prafulla Maharjan of TAC 21-14, 21-19.

In the 10th Sahabir Memorial Open Lawn Tennis Championships, Pranab Khanal of TAC and Kamal Bhandari of Nepal Police Club (NPC) combined to lift the men’s doubles title. The duo came from a set down to beat Jitendra Pariyar and Santosh Khatri 4-6, 6-4, 10-5 of Lalitpur in the final.

Hosts APF and New Diamond Academy set the championship clash in the APF IGP fifth National Open Women’s Volleyball Tournament. Departmental giants APF dispatched TAC 25-9, 25-9, 25-10. Nebica Chaudhary of APF was declared player-of-the-match. New Diamond Academy saw off NPC 25-10, 25-22, 25-13 riding on match-winning performance from Pratibha Mali. Mali was adjudged player-of-the-match. The final will be played on Friday.

Khairopati News

leave a comment

Create Account

Log In Your Account